The Pocket Jesus

 

“You are the light of the world – like a city on a hilltop that cannot be hidden. No one lights a lamp and then puts it under a basket. Instead, a lamp is placed on a stand, where it gives light to everyone in the house” Matt 5:14-15

pocket_jesus
 

Pocket Jesus from the internet.  It’s a thing.

 

First, let me start off by saying that I can’t believe Pocket Jesus is an actual thing.  But if it’s on the internet it must be true.

Moving on…

I have a confession to make.  I used to have (and sometimes still have) a Pocket Jesus.

You know.  The kind of Jesus that you take out of your pocket only in moments of convenience. When it’s ‘safe.’

Here’s how this usually goes down…at least for me.  When we need a financial blessing, a job, a man, or to win a big game – Pocket Jesus.  When you’re around your ‘churchy’ friends who don’t drink, curse, and can quote more scripture than your Grandma – he’s on full display.

But when things are looking up, when we’re feeling ‘blessed’ and living the good life, Pocket Jesus goes, well, back in the pocket.  Or perhaps those times when you’re feeling persecuted for your faith.  Or like that time you mentioned his name and one of those weird, awkward silences followed.  I mean, I’m pretty sure just the number of times I’ve typed Jesus in this post is enough to cause some discomfort.

Or when you’re around friends who might be unbelievers – you quickly put him waaaay down in the pocket (like the corner where all lint monsters are living) and keep your mouth shut.  Don’t wanna look like one of those crazy Christians?  Mission accomplished, in Jesus’ name.

I’m guilty.  I’ve done it.  But even though Jesus performed miracles, walked on water, and even defeated death, he can’t breathe in your pocket.  I don’t recall there being a pocket situation in any of the books of the Bible.  However, I do know that Jesus and his mission of love that he died to bring to this world will suffocate if we keep throwing him in there.

As a follower of Christ, your Jesus is meant to be on full display.  In every action, encounter, situation and conversation people should feel the love that resonated in his message.  Now before you all go getting all weird on me, I don’t mean pushing or peddling Jesus like you’re selling vacuums door to door.  But living a life where love seeps from your entire being and pours into every soul you see.  So much so that they are drawn out of curiosity to Jesus by the life you live and the words you speak.

Love God, love people, and let Jesus change them – and you – in the process.

“So now I am giving you a new commandment: Love each other. Just as I have loved you, you should love each other. Your love for one another will prove to the world that you are my disciples” John 13:34-35

“It’s not important who does the planting, or who does the watering.  What’s important is that God makes the seed grow” 1 Cor 3:6-7

“Even though I am a free man with no master, I have become a slave to all people to bring many to Christ” 1 Cor 9:19

2 thoughts on “The Pocket Jesus

Leave a Reply

