Homeschoolin’ Pt 1: The Freak Out

I might be homeschooling Monkey next school year.

tyraface

Sorry for the delay.  I just had a minor freak-out while typing that.  I’m back now.

halloran20scared

It happened again.  Ok, I’m good.  I’m currently doing some deep breathing exercises to stave off any additional breakdowns or panic moments.

So, like I was saying.  I’m on the road to being a homeschoolin’ mom.  Which is strange to say for several reasons.

  1.  I have a full-time job.  I run a practice, own a business, and fill-in at other practices during the week.  Further explanation as to how this supports my ‘this is strange’ theory should not be necessary.
  2. I’m a single mother.  As in it’s technically impossible for me to not work unless I get a sugar daddy.
  3. Just the thought of homeschooling gives me the heebie jeebies.  I mean, I love Monkey to death.  But let’s be honest here.  No one wants to spend all day every day with their kid.  In order to maintain sanity and order, alone time is a must.
  4. When I think of homeschooling, I get all stereotypical.  I think of the moms with white Easter socks with the frilly edges, those awkward ankle length jean skirts, cotton button up shirts tucked in perfectly at the navel, and running shoes with no running involved.  I think of weird children with no social skills who are sheltered and in need of more than a play date.  Before you get mad at me, why don’t you try conjuring up some images of what you think of when I say “HOMESCHOOL” super loud.  Yeah, that’s what I thought.

Now while I was wallowing in my hesitations, singleness, heebie jeebies, and stereotypes here’s what I discovered:

  1. There are a ton of working moms who homeschool.  Google and increasingly random run-ins with working homeschoolin’ moms told me so.  Isn’t it odd how when you see the impossible, God will put possibilities in your path to show you he’s bigger than your fears?
  2. I researched for hours and hours on how to homeschool, buy curriculum, etc.  Let’s just say the amount of ‘overwhelm’ was abundant.  However, while scouring the interwebs I stumbled upon the concept of hybrid homeschools.  Basically, these institutions provide curriculum, guidance, and your kids get to go to school a few days a week while still allowing room for creative learning at home.  Well Hallelujah.
  3. In order to make this work, I’m going to have to sacrifice some me time.  When I have days off during the week now, I relish every second of not having to think about someone other than myself for at least 6 hours.  I go to the gym, lift heavy things, and trot when my coach tells me to run.  I eat.  I fall asleep.  I eat.  I fall asleep again.  I pretend to do work.  I eat.  I wake up wondering how long I’ve been asleep again.  It is magical.  There will undoubtedly be a little less me-magic when homeschooling, but I also relish the strange conversations and debates I have with Monkey.  I get all gooey when she calls me Mummy instead of Mommy.  I can’t help but smile (and be thankful) when she announces her farts before they’ve been farted.  I love how much smarter she is than me already despite the fact that she can only spell 10 words.  So even though I won’t be able to fall asleep at 10:32 am on a weekday, I’ll still treasure those moments that are not just about me.  Mostly.
  4. Not every homeschool mom dresses like a Duggar.  And I’m not knocking the ones that do, I just know that I don’t fit into that mold.  I have tattoos, big hair, and enjoy showing off my big ol’ calves and amazing décolletage.  But while running into those random homeschoolin’ moms I spoke of earlier, I also learned that they are a diverse, honest, and kick ass group of women.  Whether they are full-time moms, part-time retail salespersons, or night shift working nurses, they are not all the same.  They had the nerve to strike out and make a decision against the grain, in the face of fears, and do what they believed was best for their families.  And if their kids happen to be weird, it’s not because they homeschool.  Their kids are just weird.  And I love it.

So if you’re thinking of homeschoolin’ and are freaking out like I was (and still am), don’t let your preconceived notions or narrow-minded cliches keep you from taking that step or at least widening your view.

However, if you’re going to homeschool, you must say homeschoolin’.  It serves to up the cool mom factor.  Not in real life, but at least it’s more fun to say.

Now if you’re wondering why I even embarked on this odd journey, stay tuned for the next post…

7 thoughts on “Homeschoolin’ Pt 1: The Freak Out

Leave a Reply

